The Question of Your Life!


In my last post (check it out here), I mentioned two insights that changed my outlook forever. The first, which was the point of that post, helped me think of myself as creative.

The second gave me permission to engage my deepest desire, and it’s what this post is about.

It came from, of all things, a movie (and a comedy at that) Sister Act 2: Back in the Habit. It was this scene where Rita Watson (Lauryn Hill) was sharing her uncertainty regarding her singing abilities with Sister Mary Clarence (Whoopi Goldberg), and the older woman responded: “If you wake up in the morning, and you can’t think about anything but singing, then you should be a singer, girl.”

For the first time in my entire life, I realised I could dare to think of myself as a writer. After all, it was constantly on my mind. I wanted to do it. I didn’t feel any confidence about my abilities, but I was certain of my desire.

I still didn’t actually get around to writing for at least a decade (it would take much encouragement from a good friend to overcome my self-doubt), but the mental shift that occurred that day was lasting, although it would be years more before I could put it into words.

In the pursuit of meaning, the critical question is not “Can I do this?”, but “How badly do I want to do this?” You see, if you want something badly enough, you can always learn how. But if you know how, and your heart is not in it, then what’s the point?

Don’t get hung up on the wrong question. Your life may well depend on it.

So tell me, what do you badly want to do, whether you think you can or not?

You just read The Question of Your Life! on Tambaya! If you liked it, and want to be notified when I write new posts (thrice a week), simply subscribe via email, RSS and Facebook (on NetworkedBlogs)! And feel free to share it with your friends using the buttons below.

6 thoughts on “The Question of Your Life!

  1. Great post!

    1. I badly want to keep writing.

    2. I badly want to write songs and perform them.

    3. I badly want to be a State Governor or the Minister of Health

    4. I badly want to own a chain of retail pharmacy stores.

    So there.. I do have work cut out for me.. So, off to get started.

    Thanks.

    Like

  2. Pingback: To “Think Outside the Box”, You Need a Box « Tambaya!

  3. Pingback: To Break the Rules, You Must Know Them « Tambaya!

What do YOU think?

