Taking Money Too Seriously


Over a month ago I took an okada (commercial motorcycle) from my street to work (something I don’t particularly recommend, but sometimes the need for speed appears to trump even consideration of safety). The fare was 100 naira, but I found on alighting that the lowest denomination on me was 1000 naira, and my rider had no change. He’d taken me a few times before, however, and we knew each other, so he insisted I walk away. “You can always pay later!”

I haven’t seen him since.

And he’s not the only one. Another time, the store-owner at the local market-stall where I buy my toiletries (I was replacing my shaving blades, I think) pleasantly surprised me with a 20% discount that I didn’t even request.

It happens even at work. Patients offer money, credit, even foodstuff – one woman who was also a trader once dropped a big black polythene bag (filled with tomatoes, onion and pepper at a time when those commodities were scarce) and dashed off before I could even thank her.

What’s amazing about all this is none of them was well off by any material standards. I’m never comfortable accepting them, but then I always remember a patient who once asked, “Doctor, do you think I’m too poor to give to you?

I found that very humbling.

I’m not trying to romanticise poverty. I’m simply struck by how those less well off seem more open to give than those who do. And I remember a line from Nassim Nicholas Taleb’s brilliant book, The Black Swan: “We all become stingy and calculating when our wealth grows and we start taking money seriously.”

Does that worry you?

 

You just read “Taking Money Too Seriously” on Tambaya!

If you liked it, and want to be notified when I write new posts (thrice a week), just subscribe! You can do so via email, RSS and Facebook (on NetworkedBlogs).

Feel free to share it with your friends too – just use the buttons below.

2 thoughts on “Taking Money Too Seriously

What do YOU think?

