The Fellowship And The Fight (Or, Love And War)


My Lover calls
With desire, in a whisper:
“Come unto Me . . .”

And though my heart longs to wander,
to see what the world has to offer;
Though I remember other lovers
and other loves, to which I may yet return –
I hear the call, and my heart whispers back;
I come, for I am a lover.

My Commander calls,
Unmistakeably urgent the battle cry:
“Who will go for Me?”

And though the fight has been protracted,
and my bones plead for respite;
Though I recollect days of peace,
with not a care in the world –
I hear, and I cry “Send me!”;
I go, for I am a soldier.

A soldier in love.

“You therefore must endure hardship as a good soldier of Jesus Christ. No one engaged in warfare entangles himself with the affairs of this life, that he may please him who enlisted him as a soldier.” (II Timothy 2:3-4, NKJV)

What do YOU think?

