Transition


I thought it would be swift,
a clean break —
one moment, this world
and in an instant, the next.
But the summons was sudden,
unexpected.
And would-be event turned process;
moment stretched into interlude,
interminable.

So I stand, a middling,
uncertain,
shivering as I
await a new mantle,
as I mourn my old
blanket.

When I wrote this, I was sort of launching out into my life. I had just finished a year of mandatory youth service and I was yet to start work, I was sort of in a limbo, and I was trying to describe it. This was the result.

What do YOU think?

